Motorcycle Riding Laws in California
State laws vary regarding motorcycle laws. Those who ride motorcycles should be aware of the specific laws in each state they will drive in. There are regulations regarding vehicle specs, safety equipment requirements, and insurance and road driving requirements.
Like other motor vehicles, motorcycles are subject to random inspections. The bike must be equipped with working turn signals, a properly functioning muffler, daytime headlights, and a passenger seat and foot rest, if holding a passenger. Handlebars may not be more than 6 inches above the operator's shoulders when in driving position.
Proper safety equipment must be used when on a motorcycle. Riders of all ages must wear a helmet at all times when on a motorcycle, whether you are the driver or a passenger, though eye protection is not required. The only type of speaker allowed on a motorcycle is a single earphone speaker in the helmet.
As with other motor vehicles, minimum liability insurance must be carried on motorcycles, with bodily insurance amounts of $15,000/$30,000 and property damage of $5,000. Riders must pass the appropriate skills test to operate a bike on the road. Two riders may ride together in a lane, and lane splitting is allowed.
If you or a loved one has been injured in a motorcycle collision, or if you have any questions regarding specific laws regarding the laws or vehicular safety in the State of California, contact our Los Angeles motorcycle accident attorney for more information.
[ Back ]